[:de]Über mich[:en]About me[:]


Viele werden mich schon kennen, für alle anderen stelle ich mich hier kurz vor:

Ich heiße Clara, bin 19 Jahre alt und habe im Jahr 2016 mein Abi gemacht. Ich habe bis Anfang September 2016 als älteste von vier Geschwistern mit meiner Familie in Weingarten, Baden-Württemberg, gewohnt, wo ich auch zur Schule gegangen bin. Ich interessiere mich für Musik, Kunst, Theater und Literatur (naja ich les halt gern…) und zähl(t)e deshalb unter anderem Theater-, Geige- und Ukulelespielen, Singen und alle möglichen Basteleien zu meinen Hobbies. Außerdem mag ich Theaterbesuche und bin – um die körperliche Aktivität nicht komplett zu vernachlässigen – sehr oft mit dem Fahrrad unterwegs. Könnte auch daran liegen, dass ich nicht gern Auto fahre. Oder parke. Vor allem das Parken mag ich nicht.

Außerhalb der Schule habe ich auch immer viel Zeit bei den Ministranten verbracht, wo ich als (Gruppen)leiterin  Erfahrungen in der Jugendarbeit sammeln konnte.

Von Anfang September 2016 bis Ende Juni 2017 habe ich als Aupair in einem kleinen Ort außerhalb von Oxford gearbeitet, wo ich eine wunderschöne Zeit erleben und Unmengen an Erfahrung sammeln durfte, sowohl in der Arbeit mit Kindern, als auch ganz generell – die ein oder andere sogenannte Lektion für’s Leben habe ich mit Sicherheit mitgenommen.

Im September 2017 beginnt für mich nun mein zweites großes Abenteuer – es geht als weltwärts-Freiwillige nach Cochabamba, Bolivien. Über meine Erfahrungen werde ich hier – so regelmäßig wie möglich – berichten, in der Hoffnung, dass es euch gefällt. Ich freue mich übrigens auch immer über Rückmeldung!



[:de]Über mich[:en]About me[:]

Hi there!

The fact that you’ve chosen to read the english version of this suggests that you’re part of my circle of “Oxford friends and aquaintances”, so you probably know me quite well already. Anyway, hellohello, welcome and thank you for coming along with me on this exciting journey (Do I sound pretentious? I guess I sound pretentious. Never mind, I’m blogging after all.)!

Now, if you’re still intrigued to read on or you’re simply not part of said very exclusive circle, here are some important(?) facts and figures about me:

My name is Clara, I’m 19 years old and I finished my Abitur in 2016 (that’s the german A-level equivalent, in case you’re wondering). I’m the oldest of four children and until September 2016 I was living with my family in a small but pretty town called Weingarten, where I also attended school.

Among the many things that I enjoy about life (still holding on to that slight trace of pretentiousness, I know) are theatre, art, music and literature (sounds so overly important considering that I just simply like reading, but can’t think of another way to put it), which is why I used to (and partly still do) spend my freetime playing the violin or the ukulele, doing all sorts of arts and crafts, singing in a choir or doing theatre. Apart from that, I like going to see plays and -so as not to completely neglect physical activity- cycling around town. Might also be due to the fact that I do not enjoy driving. Nor parking. Especially not parking.

When I was still in school, I also spent lots of time with my community’s altar servers (they are the ones wearing gowns, swinging the censer and assisting the priest in catholic services, but they are also often part of youth groups, doing all kinds of group activities and going on holidays together). As a group leader I was able to gain experience in working with children and young people.

From the beginning of September 2016 until the end of June 2017 I was then given the chance to work and live as an Aupair near the beautiful city of Oxford, where I had the most wonderful time, made lots of new friends and gained even more experience, not only in working with children – I was taught quite a few of those so-called life lessons as well!

In September 2017 I am now starting a new adventure: As a volunteer I’m off to Cochabamba, Bolivia, and I’ll do my best to keep you posted with this blog thingy which I hope you’ll enjoy. Let me know if you do, I always love to hear from you!