About me

Hi there!

The fact that you’ve chosen to read the english version of this suggests that you’re part of my circle of “Oxford friends and aquaintances”, so you probably know me quite well already. Anyway, hellohello, welcome and thank you for coming along with me on this exciting journey (Do I sound pretentious? I guess I sound pretentious. Never mind, I’m blogging after all.)!

Now, if you’re still intrigued to read on or you’re simply not part of said very exclusive circle, here are some important(?) facts and figures about me:

My name is Clara, I’m 19 years old and I finished my Abitur in 2016 (that’s the german A-level equivalent, in case you’re wondering). I’m the oldest of four children and until September 2016 I was living with my family in a small but pretty town called Weingarten, where I also attended school.

Among the many things that I enjoy about life (still holding on to that slight trace of pretentiousness, I know) are theatre, art, music and literature (sounds so overly important considering that I just simply like reading, but can’t think of another way to put it), which is why I used to (and partly still do) spend my freetime playing the violin or the ukulele, doing all sorts of arts and crafts, singing in a choir or doing theatre. Apart from that, I like going to see plays and -so as not to completely neglect physical activity- cycling around town. Might also be due to the fact that I do not enjoy driving. Nor parking. Especially not parking.

When I was still in school, I also spent lots of time with my community’s altar servers (they are the ones wearing gowns, swinging the censer and assisting the priest in catholic services, but they are also often part of youth groups, doing all kinds of group activities and going on holidays together). As a group leader I was able to gain experience in working with children and young people.

From the beginning of September 2016 until the end of June 2017 I was then given the chance to work and live as an Aupair near the beautiful city of Oxford, where I had the most wonderful time, made lots of new friends and gained even more experience, not only in working with children – I was taught quite a few of those so-called life lessons as well!

In September 2017 I am now starting a new adventure: As a volunteer I’m off to Cochabamba, Bolivia, and I’ll do my best to keep you posted with this blog thingy which I hope you’ll enjoy. Let me know if you do, I always love to hear from you!